Fines & Costs
Each fine is determined by the court. The State of Texas sets a minimum and maximum amount for each fine, and the court must set fines within these limits. The following are maximum fines for violations:
- City ordinance violations - $2,000 (depending on the charge and subsequent violations)
- Class C misdemeanor violations - $500
- Traffic violations - $200
For a list of fines, please view the Municipal Court's Fine Schedule
The State of Texas sets court costs for each type of violation. State law requires the court to add a one-time fee of $25 to each violation that carries a balance for more than 30 days.
State law sets the warrant fee at $50 per warrant.
Omni Base Program
The Omni Base program provides an effective collection and enforcement tool by restricting a violator's ability to renew a driver's license due to outstanding violations. This failure-to-appear program is authorized by Chapter 706 of the Texas Transportation Code. Violators are also charged a $30 fee.